november, 2020

30nov1:00 am1:00 amThe Somerset Maugham AwardsUK Entry Fee: Free Max word count: Full manuscript Top Prize: £5000

The Somerset Maugham Awards

Event Details

The Somerset Maugham Award is a British literary prize given each year by the Society of Authors. Set up by William Somerset Maugham in 1947 the awards enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience in foreign countries. The awards go to writers under the age of 30 with works published in the previous year to the award, the work can be either non-fiction, fiction or poetry.

Since 1964, multiple winners have usually been chosen in the same year. In 1975 and in 2012, the award was not given. The award has twice been won by the son of a previous winner: Kingsley Amis (winner in 1955) was the father of Martin Amis (1974), and Nigel Kneale (1950) the father of Matthew Kneale (1988).

The prize will be awarded at the annual Society of Authors’ Awards ceremony in 2021.

Browse our full list of writing competitions

Our website features the most comprehensive and regularly-updated list of creative writing competitions. Go have a look!

Back to Top